General Gist: 09-08-2011 – CDGG, Naija Women, Football etc…

Committee for the Demystification of Government and Governance… (Updates)

I put up a post yesterday about forming this committee and installing myself as its Chairman. Since then, I have got some for feedback about my “laudable” idea and how useful it would be in moving our nation forward. None of the feedback opposed or questioned my position as “Chairman” (well, except one, which I am going to ignore since it isn’t aligned with my “transformation agenda”).

So I have given this some thought and I have decided as follows:

1. To recruit new members to the committee (as long as each member swears an oath of allegiance to the chairman)

2. That we will operate like the “Adjustment Bureau” dudes… complete with the Fedora hats. Not figured out yet how we can pass through “substrates” but I will form a sub-committee for the actualization of that ambition.

3. We need a logo (coat of arms), website, and a Terms of Reference… (this is where I need your help – suggest ideas to me… so I can say “its not my idea!”)

Over the weekend…

First of all, @dadashnami, @eddiemadaki and @sirUyi rock. Because of these great people, my Saturday can be described as a blast! Thank you Grotto, Abuja.

Arsenal lost again. I don’t know how else to be hopeful. Now I wish I had “decked” Wenger when I ran into him in June at Heathrow Airport.

But it will be a long, hard season for us gunners. I am bracing myself for it.

Nigerian women with bad attitude: So why do we have this problem? Ok, so you are pretty and smartย have big hips/boobs and every man wants you… hence you have to be a social porcupine – ready to shoot darts at anything that crosses your self-imposed perimeter of insecurity. Not saying, don’t be firm in resisting unwanted advances, but it is a cultured and confident woman that is capable of managing the pressures of being attractive with grace and modesty (and not every social contact with the opposite sex is an advance… if you get what I mean).

The irony of this is that when these women eventually lower their guards, they do so for the wrong reasons. There are certain aspects in life where betting on the big gorilla (presumably a loaded one) isn’t necessarily #winning.

So, to whom it may concern, don’t be a weist!

Saudi Arabia 0 – 2 Nigeria: We faced our first real test in the U-20 FIFA World Cup in Colombia on Saturday and we sailed through. I was particularly impressed by our ability to take the few opportunities we had. I also have a thing for long range goals (ironic for an Arsenal fan)… which we have been scoring a lot of…

Ok, so the age thing is an issue. I am paying attention to the discussions around it. Following @Ikwerreman’s tweets on the issue has been very insightful. Not to make any excuses, I do think we have improved over the years in this area, although not as much as we should. It is frustrating that we can’t completely enjoy a victory in an age grade competition without age-cheating casting a guilty shadow.

What I am working on at the moment…

Technology initiatives for governance and development with @nnabros, @ebyboi, @blazeotokpa and a few others. Will give updates on this from time to time… but we have been meeting and putting together some frameworks.

Enough is Enough RSVP project documentation: Working with the EIE family on this one. Details later, but it’s exciting!!

Broadband Blueprint and Framework for Nigeria – Work related.

Reading list:

My Nigeria – Peter Cunliffe-Jones; Nigerian National e-Infrastructure Strategy 2011 (NITDA), The First National Implementation Plan for NV20:2020 (vol I & vol II).

If anyone is reading these… we can discuss. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “General Gist: 09-08-2011 – CDGG, Naija Women, Football etc…

  1. Hehehe!! So u get to decide wot does or doesn’t align with ur transformation agenda?! Smh! Anyway, u hav made urself chairman so we’ll jst hv to resign to fate..B the way u still havnt told us how to apply to be members of the committee cos me I’ll swear the allegiance provided we won’t hv to go to okija!! Gr8 projects I must say! Pls keep us posted!! Pls visit http://www.gboukzi.blogspot.com ur comments will be highly appreciated!! I’ll keep my mouth shut for now sir!at least until I read ur next post!

  2. The Demystification thing sounds interesting but that part with the Fedora hats *shakes index*.

    I’ve always wanted us to address the headaches females give themselves cause of us. So because I wave at you every morning insinuates that I am making advances.

    Let’s beat England first before we conclude o.

    My contribution abates here.

  3. My comments and Laughter will fill this box and beg for your next update. Well, i would have started with “Nigerian Women and bad attitude. But you see, i am a Nigerian woman-Proud to be n always will. And Arsenal? why are you not #winning? I heard with the looting in London he’s busy stealing trophies. Shame! *pheeew* at world’s end, its your blog and i like…..(Oh! Not the blog, i like myself i mean).

  4. But i must comment. How could i not?
    While i haven’t got big boobs and the rest of it, I admit that i might have a bit of the attitude. Do you blame us, ehn? When you meet the one who’s smart, he’s oily enough to fry dodo with and the ones who aren’t smart, are just plain drab, univentive, uninteresting, boring, regular…need i go on? Pray, tell, why should i waste the grace and modesty?

    Plus we figure if you are not there for the hips and lips, then wait a bit… what’s the rush? But no, even you see only the boobs and hips (”Ok, so you are pretty and smart”)…and then you crossed it out. *long hiss*

  5. While i haven’t got big boobs and the rest of it, I admit that i might have a bit of the attitude. Do you blame us, ehn? When you meet the one who’s smart, he’s oily enough to fry dodo with and the ones who aren’t smart, just plain drab, univentive, uninteresting, boring…need i go on? Pray, tell me, why should i waste the grace and modesty?

    Plus we figure if you are not there for the hips and lips, then wait a bit- what’s the rush? But no, even you see only the boobs and hips (”Ok, so you are pretty and smart”….and then you crossed it out.) *long hiss*

    • I stopped reading at this point: “i havenโ€™t got big boobs and the rest of it…” *rolls eyes*
      You no even carry, you wan come do shakara… *yimu*

Leave a Reply

